Coverart for item
The Resource The Orphan's Tale

The Orphan's Tale

Label
The Orphan's Tale
Title
The Orphan's Tale
Statement of responsibility
Pam Jenoff
Title variation
orphans tale
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A New York Times bestseller!"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan TrainA powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything
Summary
Seventeen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier during the occupation of her native Holland. Heartbroken over the loss of the baby she was forced to give up for adoption, she lives above a small German rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep. When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants, unknown children ripped from their parents and headed for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the baby that was taken from her. She steals one of the babies and flees into the snowy night, where she is rescued by a German circus. The circus owner offers to teach Noa the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their unlikely friendship is enough to save one another -- or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10549420
Cataloging source
BT
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
  • -HTdmzNDZHo
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
The Orphan's Tale
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:6cf44f8d-ac18-4cf3-9044-fd27190bacf4
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781460396421
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Orphan's Tale
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:6cf44f8d-ac18-4cf3-9044-fd27190bacf4
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781460396421
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Nederland – Marion & Ed Hughes Public LibraryBorrow it
      2712 Nederland Ave., Nederland, TX, 77627, US
      29.9643618 -94.00120679999999
Processing Feedback ...